Journal of Medicinal Chemistry

© Copyright 1999 by the American Chemical Society

Volume 42, Number 20

October 7, 1999

Announcements

2000-2001 Predoctoral Fellowships

The ACS Division of Medicinal Chemistry announces the continuation of its Fellowship Program. Five \$20,000 fellowships will be awarded in 2000, through the sponsorship of the following companies: Abbott Laboratories, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Hoechst-Marion Roussel, Parke-Davis Pharmaceutical Research, and Wyeth-Ayerst Research. The awards are for predoctoral students engaged in medicinal chemistry research in a Medicinal Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Biochemistry, or Chemistry Department listed in the current *ACS Directory of Graduate Research*.

Nominations should include a complete student curriculum vitae, including education and work experience; a student bibliography, including reprints of articles; a complete project description including rationale (five-page limit) prepared by the candidate; transcripts of all post-high-school work, including Graduate Record Examination scores (if available); three letters, including a nomination letter from the student's research advisor; and a letter from a university official with a commitment to cover tuition and all fees granted to other regular graduate students.

Applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent resident visa holders at the time of application and must have at least one year of graduate school remaining at the time an award would begin (September 1, 2000). Additional information (including a complete set of guidelines) can be obtained from Dr. Annette Doherty, Ph.D., Institut de Recherche Jouveinal, 3-9 rue de la Loge, BP 100, 94265 Fresnes Cedex, France. Phone: 33-1-40-96-7578. Fax: 33-1-40-96-7559. E-mail: annette.doherty@wl. com.

All application materials for the awards are due on January 15, 2000, and must be received by Dr. Annette Doherty (2000 Past Chair) at the above address.

JM990392O